ORIGINAL SPECIFICATION OF TWIN-SCREW STEEL TUG NO. 448 (THE "MARY TAVY" OF 1914.)

Philip & Son Ltd.


£50.00




(Dartmouth), N.D. (1914). Not Published. 11 pp. (on Philip's Notepaper Heading). C.c., 34 x 22cm. Stain to fore-edges of covers o/w V.G. An original shipyard working copy giving the specifications in the construction of a First World War twin-screw tug ' Yard No. 448 ' with details of hull frame, rudder, beams, deck, keelsons, engine seating, plating, bulkheads, tanks, castings, riveting & caulking, bulwarks, fore-peak, chain locker, lamp-room, galley, pantry, cabins, wheelhouse, steering gear, lights, compasses, bollards, windlass, sampson posts, capstan, towing gear, painting & varnishing, hull fittings & outfit, testing & completion, etc. The tug was ordered by Pollock & Sons, Faversham, for the Karachi Port Trust but owing to the outbreak of war she was taken over by the Admiralty before completion and named MARY TAVY (Pennant No. W.67). In 1918 the tug was based at Chatham and there she more or less remained until 1947 when she was sold to the Aberdeen Steam Tug Co., and re-named DANNY. In 1960 she was sold to the Aberdeen Harbour Board and in 1962 she was broken up in Holland. (Blackhurst, p. 83. There is an excellent photograph of the MARY TAVY in navy-grey on p. 84). This is probably the only surviving Specification for this vessel and therefore unique.


Share this book