YEARS OF VICTORY : 1802 - 1812.

Bryant, Arthur.


1st ed., 1944. Xii + 500 pp., 7 maps + e.p., maps. D.j., 22 x 14cm. Some loss to foot of d.j., mainly on spine & at rear ; bookplate, o/w V.G. In the nine years of war between 1803 and 1812 the British people triumphed in turn over false appeasement, Napoleon's attempted invasion, his Grand Design at sea, his vaunted New Order and Continental blockade and his armies in Portugal and Spain. This book tells the background of the struggle of England and the British people in action and it covers such famous battles as Trafalgar, St. Domingo, Assaye, Maida, Copenhagen, Rolica, Vimiero, Corunna, the Basque Roads, Douro, Talavera, Bussaco, Torres Vedras, Barrosa, Sabugal, Fuentes de Onoro, Albuera, El Bodon, Arroyo dos Molinos and Ciudad Rodrigo.

Share this book